Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Taco Asylum. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Sknighty 5 days ago

Taco Salad

Love this salad, I get it every time I go. Get it with Shrimp it is to die for!!

Tmprow 14 days ago

Bacon PB&J

I cannot pass up the spectacular combo of balanced flavors that is the Bacon PB&J Taco each time I go. And I often daydream of the Nachos Borrachos - the pickled onions are the cherry on top!

Iamcloey 15 days ago

Buffalo Fried Chicken

The buffalo fried chicken taco is the most delicious taco I've ever had. The combination of the buttery buffalo sauce and the toppings are enough to satisfy multiple cravings at once and have you begging for more. At one point we moved from California but still came back to visit and every time we included a trip to Taco Asylum. The creative and delicious flavor combinations are incredible, the beer selection is a perfect compliment to the food and the service is impeccable. People are casual and friendly and feel like friends.

Sarineh about 1 month ago

Steak Chimichurri

OMG THIS IS THE BEST TACO! You can't go to Taco Asylum and not eat the tacos. So Damn good! My favorites are the Steak Chimichurri, Lemongrass Shrimp, and Pacific Cod

Gcrandall about 2 months ago

Bacon PB&J

You're probably asking yourself, "Who in their right mind would combine the flavors of homemade peanut butter, homemade jelly, bacon, chilis, etc.?" The correct answer is this: "Remember, it may sound crazy, but this is an Asylum." The fact that the inmates at Taco Asylum have successfully blended this explosion of flavor into a taco proves that they are, indeed, anything but crazy. On the contrary, after eating this little treat, you'll be classifying them as stable geniuses who know exactly what they're doing. And what are they doing? Providing riDONKulous tastes to willing eaters like you and me.

Athenasliao 2 months ago

Bacon PB&J

Hidden gem!!! I can't believe how many friends I have who live in OC and have never heard of this place - the tacos are amazing (try the PBJ one, I know it sounds weird but you'll like it!). Very innovative and creative menu- sometimes they have like seasonal specials, e.g. around November they have their famous Thanksgiving taco, omg it's mouthwatering.🤤🤤🤤 The staff is also always super nice when I come here! 💛✨

Ju1i4ce 3 months ago

Lemongrass Shrimp

Some of the best tacos I've had in Costa Mesa. The staff is amazing and friendly. You can catch them at the local brewery so if feels like a real community. They also have some of the best beers on tap.

Aduddridge 4 months ago

Pacific Cod

We had many different dishes, all were absolutely delicious 😋 So fresh and tasty. Great service and cosy ambiance. Will definitely return and recommend it wholeheartedly! 👍

J 4 months ago

Nachos Borrachos

I thought it was interesting to add pickled onions and cucumbers to nachos, but the outcome was amazing. I will have to try this again.

Class 7 months ago

Mushroom

I'm vegan and loved this mushroom taco! Stop by on taco Tuesday for an extra $1 off too ;)

Annenarayan 8 months ago

Nachos Borrachos

This nacho dish is one of the best around, if not the best! Love they picked onions, tasty guacamole, and I personally add short rib. Yum!

Rar62686 8 months ago

Steak Chimichurri

My husband and I were at the South Coast Plaza and trying to decide where to go for lunch. My husband said he wanted to sit at a bar, drink a beer and eat a taco. I typed taco into Yelp and Taco Asylum came up. We walked in, sat at the bar, he got a beer from the great beer list and we ordered some food. We got the nachos, 2 steak chimichurri tacos and 2 short rib tacos. Wow! Not only did you guys meet the request but you exceeded our expectations! The steak in the taco was so delicious. You could taste the quality of the meat and it was cooked to perfection. All the flavors were delicious and the portions were generous. We loved the steak chimichurri tacos so much that my husband ordered a third and that time added bacon. Would absolutely recommend and will definitely return!

Jmhjmc 8 months ago

Bacon PB&J

WOW!!!! this was an amazing taco. sounded interesting on the menu, but the taste exceeded my expectation. Can't wait to return and try more taco's. My new favorite place to eat!!!!!!!

Taralsimon 9 months ago

Mushroom

I used to live in Costa Mesa and always got the mushroom taco even though I'm definitely a meat eater. If you're a mushroom fanatic like me you have to get try these! The crunchy chickpeas on top are so good you'll just want extra to eat on the side. Now that I live in LA I don't get to eat here as much, but when I do stop in town I always swing by for this taco!

Amberyoung1 10 months ago

Bacon PB&J

My husband and I bring our toddlers here every week! The patio is perfect for an IPA and amazing tacos. The chimichuri sauce is addictive. Unique tacos with bold flavors. I can't say no to the PB&J Taco! Our kids love the bean and cheese burrito and guac. The food is fresh, and the ambiance can't be beat.

Adantapia724 10 months ago

Carnitas

Food was tasty, fair price for the food, maybe can make the dishes bigger wouldn't mind paying little extra for a bigger sample, salsa in very good, God Bless!

John 11 months ago

Buffalo Fried Chicken

My wife and I swear by taco asylum. They have unique tacos, that have become staples of our order. The buffalo chicken taco sounds like it should be bad, but it's incredible! Bacon PB&J? Should be weird, but holy crap. It's great. Beer selection is always tops as well.

Dan 11 months ago

Bacon PB&J

OMG! OMG! OMG! There are defining moments in a person's life that will stick with them forever. The first time you kiss someone, your first car, the first time someone tells you "I love you", and the first time you go to freaking Taco Asylum and have the Bacon PB&J taco. Are you kidding me? This thing is like Heaven wrapped in a flour tortilla! But before I wax too poetic about this thing, let me tell you about the place. It started out as an innocent walk by. It was later in the evening, and they weren't open. But the menu was out front. My girlfriend and I looked at the menu and were like, "Wait … what? Really? Are you kidding?" That's when we knew we had to come back ASAP and get some tacos. The place has a really cool, laid back vibe to it. But don't let the unassuming facade lull you into a sense of low expectation; there are some SERIOUS flavors coming out of that kitchen. I will say this as well, the people that work there (servers, bar tenders, cooks) are very cool and friendly. We were pretty much blown away by the attentiveness and helpfulness. Not over-bearing, mind you, but always there checking in and making sure everything is awesome. Which it was. Completely awesome. My first experience there was so good, I didn't want to write a review right away … I mean, any place can put up a good front one time. I'm all about consistency. I've been back 3 times now, and every single time has been just as good as the first. So now I'm documenting my experience for posterity. The food is completely and utterly amazing! We've talked about the Bacon PB&J taco (get it with extra bacon, because … well, bacon), I mean, it will change your entire belief system! I've had the Steak Chimichurri, the Bah Mi, the Short Rib, the Fire Pig, and the Lemongrass Shrimp. So many amazing flavors, it was a little overwhelming, but damn if I don't want to have my checks direct deposited to this place. It's THAT good. Plus, they have a great selection of craft beers that compliment the tacos perfectly. It's a small place, but man, they pack some big flavors. This is a must-visit place before you die, or at least before the end of the week. Bottom line? Everything … and I mean EVERYTHING on the menu is a home run. This place has moved into my extremely selective Top 5 places of all time. I may be there so much that they might mistake me for an employee … or take out a restraining order. As long as I get the tacos, I really don't care.

Shiladylan 11 months ago

Nachos Borrachos

I had Buffalo Chicken Taco and Nachos Borrachos, I have tried so many places and these kind nachos and taco very delicious, very unique way of mixed flavors and added different verities of items mixed, make very unique taste. Me and my family enjoyed very much. we will come very often this place from Los Angeles.

Maddskeller 11 months ago

Bacon PB&J

This review is for one of the most unique tacos on the menu. I got talked in to trying it one time and OMG it is actually so good. Everytime we go now I make sure to order at least one. Don't even read what's in it, just do it!

S 7 days ago

The Shortrib

I've been visiting Taco Asylum since they opened their doors in 2011, and the short rib taco is the foundation. Every person I've introduced to this restaurant starts with this taco, and that's all she wrote! The signature pickled red onions on top are what seals the deal! Get the nachos on top of that, and you've got a convert for life!

Taylorbravo11 14 days ago

The Shortrib

Loved it so much I ordered an extra to put in my butt.

Vanjohnsonnc 21 days ago

Red Curry Cauliflower

I visited Costa Mesa earlier this month and found Taco Asylum. If I ever return to Costa Mesa I will without a doubt return to Taco Asylum. And regarding the Red Curry Cauliflower tacos, I just have 4 words - Fee-Nom-Min-Nal! Thanks!!!

Gcrandall about 2 months ago

Nachos Borrachos

Everything about this is fantastic. We added the short rib beef to this and I believe that we've discovered the missing link to Nacho-vana. oommmm....ooommmm...I have achieved true consciousness. Get to the Asylum and do likewise.

Gcrandall about 2 months ago

Banh Mi

Amongst a sea of delicious flavors, the Banh Mi stands supreme. I know the menu says "five-spice pork," but I am wondering if two of the spice were indeed "joy" and "ecstasy." This is a taste explosion that will leave you wanting to 1) order another, and 2) make sure everyone else in your party experiences the taste. Under no circumstances should the team at Taco Asylum ever consider removing this from the menu. May the Banh Mi always find a place in the Asylum. It'd be crazy to do otherwise.

Cgonzales69 3 months ago

Pacific Cod

Omg the spiciness of the taco sauce and the flakiness of the fish mixed with the crisp cabbage makes for a great taco. Pair it with a great New beer on tap to finish the meal perfectly.

Aduddridge 4 months ago

Buffalo Fried Chicken

Taco Asylum is a little gem . It's use of fresh,top quality ingredients is the key to its success. This coupled to a wonderful atmosphere make it a must eat there sort of place.Highly recommended !

Mikeuram 4 months ago

Steak Chimichurri

The Wagyu Steak Chimichurri is one of the best Premium Tacos that I have ever had. It is slightly better than Gaucho Grill's steak Chimichurri.

Lisalatham 6 months ago

Pacific Cod

Best tacos in the world. I'm from New Zealand and make the trip wherever I am staying in LA to The Camp especially for blackened cod tacos 🌮!!! Great food and amazing friendly staff

Isabellabradley3 7 months ago

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

I'm addicted to the Jamaican jerk chicken tacos. They're the perfect combo of sweet, savory and spicy that I can't help but getting 4+ every time I come!

Brookearhoden 8 months ago

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

My number 1 favorite taco place!!!! I love Taco Asylum and all the creative foods there. Jamaican Jerk Chicken is my absolute favorite. I try to go at least once a week to curve my cravings. Definitely a must try if you have not!

Smlyclln 8 months ago

The Standard Burrito

It was a pretty darn good burrito, I was very satisfied. The way its served made it look appetizing. I added a little sour cream and that made it even better. I was full on half the burrito, the portions inside were great!! Definitely a place to stop by and check out. Next time I wanna try the quesadilla!!

Lowemama2 8 months ago

Banh Mi

This taco is one of my favorites. Flavorful meat, soft tortilla & the veggies add a kick. I love taco asylum and have been eating here for over 6 years. Unique tacos, good beer, and a relaxing environment.

Marisabel 10 months ago

Bacon PB&J

Hands down THE best taco I've had. At first when you read it it sounds weird, but it's a must try because you will literally fall in love with how well the flavors go together!!

Myshopping85 10 months ago

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

As a big fan of jerk seasoning on everything, I had to try this! Awesome choice, it was DELICIOUS! I love the variety & CREATIVITY at Taco Asylum...this "ain't no Taco Bell" for sure!

Peggydobyns 10 months ago

Mushroom

Great vegetarian option! Yummy!

Clnordyke 11 months ago

Carnitas

One of the best Tacos I have had. Stopped on the way to airport and now stop in every time I am in town.

Guest 11 months ago

Bacon PB&J

Well done!!! I was optimistic to say the least, but pleasantly surprised. Definitely recommended.

Megan 11 months ago

Bacon PB&J

This was a taco I HAD to try. I must say, I was pleasantly surprised! The bacon was thick and flavorful, the jam was perfect! It all came together so well. Would definitely recommend trying it out!

David over 1 year ago

FirePig

No kidding, best taco I've ever had, IF YOU LOVE SPICY FOODS



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

February 2020
Coming Soon

January 2020
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA